The Faculty of Science, Arts and Heritage was officially established on August 1 2009. The faculty is a merger between two former learning centres at UTHM namely Centre for Science Studies and Centre for Humanities and Communication Studies. FSSW is helmed by a Dean who is assisted by three Deputy Deans. Prof. Dr. Hashim Saim has been given the mandate to be the first Dean while his Deputy Deans are Assoc. Prof. Dr. Azme Khamis (Academic and Internationalisation), Assoc. Prof. Dr. Hussain Othman (Research and Development) and Dr. Mohamad Zaky Noh (General Studies). There are two departments at the faculty which are the Department of Science and Mathematics and the Department of Humanities which are led Dr Tay Kim Gaik and Pn. Robijah Kamarulzaman respectively. The administration side, on the other hand, is led by Assistant Registrar, Pn. Nor Suhailah Mohamed.

FSSW boasts several learning labs including Physics Lab, Chemistry Lab as well as Language and Multimedia Labs. These labs are fully utilised in teaching and learning of service subjects offered by the faculty that include Science, Mathematics, Islamic Studies, Languages and Social Science subjects. Besides these facilities, there is also proofreading and translations services provided by the faculty under the Writing Unit.

The faculty is gearing itself towards introducing several new academic programmes that are expected to commence in 2011/2012. The programmes will encompass the PhD, masters as well as undergraduates levels. Furthermore, FSSW is also in the process of establishing four Centres of Excellence that will enhance research and consultation activities in the faculty.


Don't want to miss our interesting news and updates! Make sure to join our newsletter list.

Contact us

You may contact us by sending an email, or feel free to use our online inquiry system
Contact Us

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.